Metadrive permissions explained

HOW DOES PERMISSIONS WORK IN METADRIVE?

Metadrive doesn’t require any security configuration. Metadrive relies on the security assigned in Google Drive.

 

WHAT DOES IT MEAN?

Let’s do an example. Imagine you have three different users with different roles for one particular Google Drive folder or Team Drive:

  • User A is the owner of the folder (or organizer in case you are in Google Team Drives).
  • User B is writer, has edit permissions in the folder.
  • User C is reader, has only view permissions.

 

User A as Owner / Organizer of the folder / Team Drive is able to:

  • Folder Level
    • Configure if editors (writers) are able to create custom properties and create, update or delete views or not (By default, editors can create custom properties and manage views)
    • Create, modify and delete custom properties
    • Create, modify and delete views
  • Document level
    • Modify document’s metadata
    • Search documents by metadata
    • Apply filter, sort and group settings
    • Share, copy or delete the document
    • Upload or create new documents

 

User B as Editor (writer) is able to:

  • Folder Level
    • If the owner enables the option, Editor can create, modify and delete custom properties and views.
  • Document level
    • Modify document’s metadata
    • Search documents by metadata
    • Apply filter, sort and group settings
    • Share, send by email, copy or delete the document
    • Upload or create new documents

 

User C as Viewer (reader) is able to:

  • Folder Level
    • No operations available
  • Document level
    • Search documents by metadata
    • Apply filter, sort and group settings
    • Share, send by email or copy the document