How to manage Metadrive Views?

Introduction

In Metadrive it’s possible to change properties order to adapt the visualization of your documents. This is what we call Metadrive View.

TIP: Take advantage of Metadrive views to adjust the window size when Metadrive runs embedded in Google Sites.

 

When you customize a Metadrive view you can:

  • Save your current filter, sort or group settings
  • Change the order of the properties
    • Drag a column and drop it where you want to see it
  • Select the properties to be displayed (Hide/Show properties)

 

The following screenshot shows how to select and deselect columns in Metadrive. Click on Column menu and move the cursor to Columns:

 

Now you can select or deselect which columns you want to see. We are going to select Status and To (Custom properties) and deselect Owner (System property):

 

Metadrive Views also allows you to save your current filtering, sorting and grouping options to easily access them in the future and avoid to repeat the same process each time.

Metadrive Views belong to a folder. Only the owner (and managers if they are allowed) can create, modify and delete views, but every user can select them using the views menu.

Who can modify the view?

Only the users with edit permissions at the root folder level can customize the folder view.

If you need more details about security, check this page Permissions

 

Adding new views

For example, we are in a folder where we store invoices. We would like to have a view of Globex Corporation invoices that are currently “Charged

 

First of all, we need to apply two filters:

  • Status = Charged
  • To = Globex Corporation

Once we have applied this filters, this is the result:

 

Now we want to save this view to avoid the previous process each time we need to see Globex Corporation invoices charged.
So we click on the views menu and then, click on “Add new view”:

 

It will show a panel where you need to set a view title and optionally set the view as default:

NOTE: Setting a view as default means that it will be the view which every user will see when opening the folder with Metadrive.

 

And it’s done! Now you can easily access to Globex Corporation invoices charged:

 

 

Remove current view

We want to remove the view we have created on previous step, Adding new view.

First of all, if we want to remove a view, we need to select it. So, click on views menu and then, select Globex Corp Charged:

 

Once we are in the view we would like to delete, we just need to click on views menu again and click on Remove current view:

 

Metadrive will show us a confirmation dialog, click ‘Yes’ to end the process or ‘No’ to cancel it:

NOTE: First time we open Metadrive, there aren’t views created. It will show a default view with Title and Owner (system properties) and all folder custom properties (if exist). Once you create a new view, this default view will disappear and the new one will be the default. It is not possible to delete the last view, that means there will be at least one view on the views menu.

 

Difference between edit or save a current view

Save current view is a fast way to update current view changes. Just clicking on this option we will save the new settings.

If we want to rename the view title or mark it as default, besides to update view changes, we need to click on Edit current view. It will show a panel like when adding a new view and we will be able to modify this settings.